The 7 Minute Microwave Chocolate Cake

Image

When I began my travel to New Zealand, I had heard about dreaded traveler. That bizarre anomaly occurred the asian traveler when they go away to western country eating local food full of cheese, butter, milk. Legend has it that most asians will pack on at least 5 kilos. And sure enough, it happened to me. My mother claimed that she hardly recognized me.
The culprit was cake.

Chocolate cake recipe came from my friend’s mum. When I first come see his family, they received me a huge dinner with 5 dishes and a chocolate cake . As long as I revealed her that I am fond of baking, she showed me a really fast, easy and microwave cake recipe. Even though I had heard about making cake by microwave, I never did it before so I was excited. We managed to make a round cake, inserted chocolate bar inside as a gift for lucky person who grab that piece. The funny part is her own definition. She didn’t mean a cup in the recipe is the cup of normal baking measurement, it is any cup she can grab from kitchen: a mug, a wineglass or even a highball.
Additionally, her husband is a teacher at a school for disabled children. They often taught them to do this cake since it is feasible. Thus it is mean to the parents.

Here is the recipe:

A   1 cup cake flour/plain flour
1 cup sugar
4 tsp(leveled) baking powder
3 heaped tbsp Milo
1 leveled tbsp Coco

B   1 cup hot water (from kettle)      1/2 cup oil
2 big eggs
5 ml vanilla essence

Sieve all ingredients of A togetherBeat B together
Add the ingredient of B to A and mix well

Use a microwave dish and spray it with spray and cook
Cut out a piece of wax paper, the size and the shape of your dish. Place wax paper in dish, spray and cook again (make sure that you put the wax paper with the shiny side fall down). Pour cake mixture into lined dish. Place in microwave and bake for 7 minutes @ 100 watt (depend on the watts of your microwave, you might need to bake it for longer 8-10 minutes.
Take the cake out of microwave. Place on plate and allow cooling down.
Once cake is cold you can decorate it as you wish

I normally buy a chocolate bar. Break the chocolate into blocks. Add a little milk and melt in microwave for one minute. Stir melted chocolate with spoon until it smooth (make sure that you don’t add too much milk, otherwise the chocolate become to thin and runny. The mixture must be thick but yet runny).

Once I made it for the two lovely little kid. I use their own colorful cereal to dress a smiley face as there was nothing but cereal in the kitchen cabinet. It was really impressive to these kids. Fancy the cake
Here is my finished product.

Image

Another chance is at the girly reunion party. We were not about to have a cake so we hadn’t bought one. My friend suddenly asked me for one. The fast, easy one was definitely an optimum choice. I decided to make this cake again and decorate with fruit left over.

Image

It seems like the most proper solution in urgent circumstance.

Leave a comment